Distancing from the chaos of my life…to enjoy the chaos of my day.

I write on my front porch most morning. I am up early with coffee and my journal and forge 20- 45 minutes of alone, quiet time. I sacrifice sleep for this moments. If you were to read my journal, the theme would jump out at you… I LOVE my alone time.

Re-reading some of my passages, I started to feel a little guilty about how much I love to be alone. I write about it a lot. So I had to think, do I like the rest of my chaotic day as much as my mornings alone?

And truthfully the answer was yes. I love my chaotic days. Full of screams, giggles and running around. I love the job that I have that allows me to stay home and dress in my favourite uniform ( yoga pants and a tee shirt). I love talking to kids, cuddling toddlers and laughing at preschoolers funny non-sensical jokes. I love the rest of my day, after I have had my alone time.

Key word here is ‘after my alone time’. I came to realize that if I don’t journal and sit alone for a bit each day, my life’s realities (financial stress, marital dynamics, home issues ect.) weigh heavy on my mind. When those thoughts are lingering in my subconscious, I do not enjoy my chaotic life. I am distracted and distant. I am irritable and snappy. It is not fun.

My chaos and my peace go hand and hand. I was made to be with kids. I was made to have many kids around playing and just simply being. But I can only handle the chaos if I remember that peace is needed. My mind needs peace from the overwhelming realities of life. I imagine we all need peace, but do we all actively search for it? We do need the counterbalance to survive. Most peoples days are so chaotic, no matter what you do. Those simple moments of peace are truly a necessity.

I have found my release with journaling, blogging and coffee. Some peoples might be yoga, meditating, sleeping, the gym, movies or tv, walks, running, or reading. Whatever it may be, find your peace. The thing you do to distance and calm the chaos of your life so you can handle the chaos of your day, we all need a little peace.

20140711-064411-24251054.jpg

Leave a Reply

