A day of beauty for the birthday boy

I was up at 5 am. Baking confetti cakes and figuring out if chocolate sprinkles could look like gravel for his ‘cars’ cake. I was running around organize, planning, decorating and preparing. It was my sweet canty-boy’s birthday. My baby boy was turning two.
The day was very reminiscent of his day of birth, 2 years ago. The anticipation of his beautiful day was floating yet the chaos of it all was outstanding.
His slow anticipation into the world (10 days late) but yet chaotic upon arrival. The emergency c-section and the 2 days in Cheo, seemed all so intense.
Yet the moments of beauty made it worth the chaos. Like when I first got to hold him at Cheo. After spending 24 hours looking at his picture and craving his touch, I attempted to pump milk for him. The anticipation was intense. That first cuddle, his body against mine, heart beat slowing down. United again. Those moments when he first latched and got his taste for breast milk, how everything changed for him. The nurses at Cheo told me that his heart rate was so rapid that if any one came near him or touched him it spiked to a point of worry. But once his mama came, all got better.
My baby boy.
And once united with me, he essentially spent his first four week wrapped in a sling against my chest. I always had him close. Maybe to curb my fear of almost losing him.
How I miss those moments. Always having the option to tilt my head down and breath in his sweet scent.
My sweet canty boy.
This weekend we celebrated his 2nd birthday. In a theme of ‘cars’ no less. Very fitting for my little race car that zoomed into our lives and changed everything.
My beautiful boy is growing up to be an amazing kid. Full of energy and life. He has a smile that melts hearts and makes you swoon. My little boy. He’s a mamas boy and I would have it no other way. Always and forever Canton. You are my sunshine. You completed this family and melted the hearts of us all.
Happy birthday sweet boy.

20140707-062731-23251514.jpg

Leave a Reply

