Virtual kindness

i am enough

The feeling of inadequacy.

Reading the posts,

Browsing the pictures,

Comparing and judging my day to theirs.

Worrying about if we are doing it right.

Worrying about our journey, rather than feeling it.

Thinking,

Snooping,

Comparing

Is it all worth it? Our obsession with social media?

Does it all pay off?

I have been thinking a lot about social media and its hold on our lives. Is our obsession with sharing and knowing making us better people by allowing us to share our accomplishments and lean on each other in the hard times or is it allowing for more judgement and hurt feelings?

Our technological era has high potential. High potential for positivity. A larger scale of connection. A stage in which we can all be there for each other, supporting and loving one another while staying connected. Social media allow us to voice our opinions, share our ideas and change the world. It can be a virtual place for positive change and connection. It holds power. The power for us to feel connected as a society.

We are drawn to that connection. Its human nature. And social media allows for connection, with a sense of aninimity. It creates a diminished sense of disappointment with our rejections. Less attachments to the outcome. This seems easier, but is this healthy?

I have dove right into the ideals of social media. Hoped that it would live up to its potential. I have  hoped that it would allow me to become that person who can celebrate others accomplishments and be the one who will be there when it is needed, but unfortunately social media exacerbated the negative in me. The jealousy, the judgement and the comparing. It has distanced me from my truth, my authentic life by keeping a hold on me. Festering my comparisons, pushing me to belittle my own life. This always ends up making me feel frustrated and I lash out in jealousy.

It is a completely frustrating process and very unhealthy.

I have been really trying to work on this over the past week. While I browse photos, read post and status and review blogs, I have been stopping at every feeling of insecurity or negativity. I stop and ask myself:

‘why does this bother me?’

I simply wait for the answer, and let it sink in. The answer surprises, scares and overwhelms me. I am forced to see the truth in my insecurities. Forced to tackle my jealousy and negative feelings. The process is hard, but I know it is worth it. It is worth it because I am slowly becoming a strong, happier and better version of me.

I am really working of diving head on into the positivity that social media can bring. I am getting closer to celebrating, working with and supporting my fellow companions in the virtual world. I am getting closer to becoming the person who genuinely celebrates accomplishments and will be there when you need a hug, even if it is a virtual one.

 

“The two most powerful words when we’re in struggle: me too.” — Brené Brown

 

Much love,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

