Drug of choice

Typical for me,
Underestimation,
Assumptions
Judgements

always knowing what come next,
prepared for the unexpected,
Not succombing to bewilderment,
Not accustomed to unforeseen wisdom

But…

He surprised me,
His insight,

Profound and true,

He speaks from his heart,
free from condensation
full of truth and light

‘You get a high for the control,
A buzz from the power’
he tells me

He is right
I am addicted to powerful authority
to being in control

‘Addict’ is in my blood
It boils deep within me

An uninvited friend
Who keeps try to get me to do ‘bad’
A friend who won’t leave

This existence scares me
the fear can be overpowering

I escape the fear,
reality can be too much

I am no different
then the addict I fear

Still overtaking.
Still overpowering
Still keeping me small and scared

I am still escaping my reality,
Just with a different drug

My drug of choice.

 A hazey world. Escape can come so easily, with your drug of choice.

A hazey world. Escape can come so easily, with your drug of choice.

We are addicted to our thoughts. We cannot change anything if we cannot change our thinking.
― Santosh Kalwar

Much love,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

